How to Look Up Atlantic County Jail Population Data
Atlantic County does not maintain a publicly accessible real-time population dashboard or daily census feed for the Gerard L. Gormley Justice Facility. The most direct official sources for population figures are the county's own Division of Adult Detention page and the broader Department of Public Safety administration page. Each page contains narrative averages rather than a live count or downloadable data table. The Adult Detention page is the more specific of the two.
For wider population context, the Bureau of Justice Statistics publishes annual Jail Inmates reports covering local jail populations across the country, broken out by state, jurisdiction size, and custody category. BJS data reflects the Annual Survey of Jails and the Census of Jails, which cover facilities like Atlantic County's. The BJS data is not real-time; it lags by about one to two years depending on the release cycle. The Prison Policy Initiative's New Jersey profile provides a summary view of incarceration rates, pretrial fractions, and trend data that puts Atlantic County in a New Jersey and national context. Neither BJS nor Prison Policy Initiative replace the county's own pages as the primary source for local figures, but they fill the analytical gap where county-specific historical tables do not exist.
Atlantic County Jail Capacity Overview
The Gerard L. Gormley Justice Facility was designed with a specific bed count when it opened. Demand grew well beyond that original design over the following two decades. The county's Adult Detention page now reports a current average that sits below the historical peak, reflecting both population shifts and policy changes. Harborfields Youth Detention, a separate facility managed under contract with the New Jersey Juvenile Justice Commission, holds a small number of male juvenile residents in a secure setting. The table below draws directly from official county sources; the source column identifies which county page each figure came from.
| Facility | Rated / Design Capacity | Population Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gerard L. Gormley Justice Facility (adult jail) | 398 beds (original design) | Avg. ~650 (Adult Detention page); avg. ~1,000 (Public Safety overview) | atlanticcountynj.gov/adult-detention and Public Safety page |
| Community Program Custody | Not stated | ~250 additional inmates under community-program custody jurisdiction (Public Safety page) | atlanticcountynj.gov Department of Public Safety |
| Harborfields Youth Detention | 20 secure beds | Male juveniles up to age 18; population varies by court admissions | atlanticcountynj.gov/government/county-departments/department-of-public-safety/youth-detention-harborfields |
The two adult population figures require a brief note. The Division of Adult Detention page specifically describes the Justice Facility and uses the "about 650" average. The Department of Public Safety's broader page uses a "1,000 average" and adds the community-program custody number. These are two different framings of the same institution and its extended supervision reach. Readers who cite either figure should identify which source they used. For facility-level housed population, the Adult Detention page is the more precise reference.
Average Daily Population
Average daily population, often called ADP, is the standard metric for comparing jail use over time. For Atlantic County, the official ADP picture spans three data points from county sources. The original design capacity was 398 inmates when the facility opened in 1985. At its historic peak the facility averaged around 1,000 inmates per day. The Adult Detention page currently reports an average of about 650. That represents a meaningful decline from the peak, though it still puts the facility well above the original design figure.
The gap between 650 and 1,000 matters for interpretation. If the Adult Detention page reflects only those physically housed in the building, and the Public Safety page's broader language captures community-program supervised individuals as well, then both numbers could be simultaneously correct depending on how "population" is defined. Atlantic County's own pages do not resolve this ambiguity with a footnote, so the safest reading treats them as different population definitions rather than conflicting errors. The 650 figure best represents the daily in-facility count, while the broader figure captures total adult detention custody.
Data Gap Note: No official five-year Atlantic County jail ADP table with annual figures, demographic breakdown by year, pretrial/sentenced ratio, charge mix, length of stay, or cost per inmate was located in official county sources. The research gap is noted here. BJS annual Jail Inmates reports can supply New Jersey county-level data for years covered by those surveys.
Historical Growth Since 1985
The Gerard L. Gormley Justice Facility opened in 1985. The county designed it to hold 398 inmates, a figure appropriate for Atlantic County's jail population at the time. What followed was a period of sustained growth that roughly paralleled national jail population trends. The 1980s and 1990s saw jail populations rise across New Jersey and the country as a whole, driven by changes in pretrial detention law, bail practices, sentencing policy, and law enforcement activity. Atlantic County's facility was not immune to that pressure.
By the time growth crested, the facility averaged around 1,000 inmates. That is more than two and a half times the original design. The county responded by developing the Main Jail Annex as a second section within the Justice Facility campus. The facility also built an internal capacity: in 1997 it opened a certified Correction Officers Academy, the first class of which graduated in 1998. That kind of institutional infrastructure reflects a facility that had grown into a substantial operation rather than a small local lockup.
The current average of about 650, as stated on the Adult Detention page, suggests the population has pulled back from its peak by roughly one-third. That shift may reflect New Jersey's bail reform law, which took effect in 2017 and dramatically reduced the number of people held pretrial on monetary bail. State data from BJS and Prison Policy Initiative show New Jersey as a whole saw significant pretrial population declines after that reform. Whether Atlantic County's reduction traces primarily to bail reform, sentencing changes, population shifts, or program diversion is not specified in official county pages, but the sequence is consistent with the statewide pattern.
Note: The 1985 opening date and design capacity are confirmed by the county's official Adult Detention page; the peak average of ~1,000 is also stated there.
Pretrial, County-Sentenced, and State-Sentenced Inmates
Atlantic County's jail holds three categories of inmates at the same time. Understanding the mix matters for reading population data accurately. Pretrial detainees are people who have been charged but not yet convicted; they are held either because a court determined release was not appropriate under New Jersey's bail reform framework or because conditions of release were not met. County-sentenced inmates are serving a local sentence of up to one year, typically for disorderly persons or lower-level indictable offenses. The third category includes state-sentenced inmates who are at the facility awaiting transfer to a New Jersey Department of Corrections facility, or state inmates placed at the facility by contract.
| Custody Category | Description | Official Source Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Pretrial detainees | Charged but not convicted; held under court detention order | Adult Detention page; NJ bail reform context |
| County-sentenced inmates | Serving a county jail sentence after conviction | Adult Detention page |
| State-sentenced inmates (pending or contracted) | Awaiting NJDOC transfer or held by contract arrangement | Adult Detention page |
The official county pages do not publish a precise pretrial-to-sentenced percentage for the current population. That specific breakdown is the kind of data gap that BJS's Annual Survey of Jails is designed to fill. BJS collects pretrial/sentenced splits from participating county jails annually. For the most recent available year, researchers can query BJS's data tables for New Jersey jails to find Atlantic County's reported pretrial fraction. Nationally, BJS has consistently found that roughly two-thirds of jail inmates on any given day are pretrial detainees. New Jersey's pretrial fraction shifted after the 2017 Criminal Justice Reform Act took effect, with some analyses showing the share of detainees held on cash bail dropping sharply. Atlantic County's own fraction in the post-reform period is not stated in official county pages, but the statewide trend toward fewer monetary-bail holds is well documented in BJS and Prison Policy data.
Main Jail Building and Annex
The Justice Facility is not a single undifferentiated building. The county identifies two main sections: the Main Jail Building and the Main Jail Annex. The existence of an annex reflects the facility's growth history. When the original 1985 building reached and exceeded its 398-bed design, additional space was needed. The annex expanded the functional capacity of the facility, allowing it to manage the larger population that developed through the 1990s.
The full address for the Justice Facility is 5060 Atlantic Avenue, Mays Landing, NJ 08330. The phone number for the facility is 609-645-5855. Jail Records can be reached at 609-909-7551, which is the line listed on the Central Municipal Court page for custody inquiries. Both sections of the facility operate under the Division of Adult Detention, which is a part of the Atlantic County Department of Public Safety.
Gerard L. Gormley Justice Facility
5060 Atlantic Avenue
Mays Landing, NJ 08330
Main: 609-645-5855
Jail Records: 609-909-7551
Visitation: Saturday and Sunday by appointment; general population 10:00 a.m.-9:00 p.m.
The Department of Public Safety headquarters is at a separate address: 5033 English Creek Avenue, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234, phone 609-272-9495. Administrative and policy questions about the division's operations route through that office.
Harborfields Youth Detention
Harborfields is a separate secure juvenile detention facility operated by Atlantic County under contract with the New Jersey Juvenile Justice Commission. It is not part of the adult jail. Harborfields holds male juveniles up to age 18 who have been referred following arrest when a Juvenile Intake officer determines the youth has a detainable offense. The facility's design capacity is 20 secure beds, making it a small but distinct component of the county's total detention picture.
The programs at Harborfields are geared toward short-term secure custody with an eye toward court disposition. Services include counseling, academic education, special education and GED preparation, drug and alcohol counseling, Narcotics Anonymous and Alcoholics Anonymous sessions, recreation, and sex education and parenting classes. The facility also uses home electronic detention when a juvenile judge determines a youth can be safely released to that level of supervision. Harborfields is at 800 Buffalo Avenue, Suite A, Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215, and the phone number is 609-965-3583.
Juvenile population data is not published in the same way adult jail census data is. Harborfields does not post a public roster, and juvenile records are restricted by statute. The 20-bed design capacity is the primary official figure available. Actual daily census varies with court referrals, case dispositions, and home electronic detention releases.
State Inspection Compliance
Atlantic County announced in September 2024 that a state inspection of the Justice Facility found it in 100% compliance with New Jersey standards for adult county correctional facilities. The inspection lasted six days and evaluated approximately 30 categories. That result is the most recent official quality benchmark on record for the facility. The county's announcement is the primary source for this finding.
The categories reviewed during that inspection covered a broad operational range. They included personnel practices, training and staff development, emergency procedures, security operations, records management, sanitation, food service, inmate living conditions, medical and dental and health services, disciplinary procedures, security and control systems, visitation procedures, admissions processes, inmate services and programming, and access to courts. A 100% compliance finding across roughly 30 such categories represents the top outcome available in a state inspection cycle.
- Personnel and staffing standards
- Training and staff development
- Emergency procedures and protocols
- Security and control operations
- Records management and documentation
- Sanitation and facility condition
- Food service standards
- Medical, dental, and health services
- Inmate services and programming
- Visitation and access to courts
Compliance inspections by the New Jersey Department of Corrections are the primary accountability mechanism for county jails operating under state standards. A facility in full compliance is current with every reviewed standard. The inspection results do not represent a snapshot of population levels but do bear on conditions relevant to the people held in the facility.
National and State Context
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the federal agency that tracks jail populations across the country. Its annual Jail Inmates reports, available at bjs.ojp.gov, collect data from local jails including New Jersey county facilities. The most recent complete reports show the national jail population at roughly 660,000 on any given day, representing a rate of approximately 195 per 100,000 residents. New Jersey's rate has historically been below the national average, partly because the state shifted bail practices substantially with the 2017 Criminal Justice Reform Act. Prison Policy Initiative's New Jersey profile documents those changes and shows New Jersey among the lower-incarceration states when state prison and local jail numbers are combined.
The image below is from the Bureau of Justice Statistics website, which is the primary federal source for Atlantic County inmate population context and national jail trend data.
BJS data tables cover New Jersey county jail populations by year and allow comparison of Atlantic County's reported figures against state and national benchmarks for any year in the survey period.
For context, the comparison block below uses available data to frame Atlantic County's population figures. Because Atlantic County's official sources give population averages rather than census-day counts, and because exact per-100,000 rates for Atlantic County are not published in the official county pages, the county-level rate is described qualitatively based on the official averages and the county's population of approximately 274,549 (as stated on the county fast-facts page). The state and national figures are from BJS and Prison Policy sources.
| Level | Approximate Jail Population Rate | Notes / Source |
|---|---|---|
| Atlantic County, NJ | Approx. 237 per 100,000 (using Adult Detention avg. ~650 / county pop. ~274,549) | Estimated from official county pages; not an official county-published rate |
| New Jersey (statewide) | Below national average; NJ jail rate significantly reduced after 2017 bail reform | BJS Jail Inmates reports; Prison Policy Initiative NJ profile |
| National (U.S.) | Approx. 195 per 100,000 (most recent BJS annual figures) | BJS Jail Inmates annual report |
The Prison Policy Initiative's New Jersey profile, shown below, provides a visual summary of state incarceration patterns and allows users to see how county-level data fits within New Jersey's overall picture.
The Prison Policy Initiative New Jersey profile breaks down incarceration by facility type, race, and offense category, giving a fuller picture than single-number comparisons allow.
Note: The Atlantic County rate above is a derived estimate, not an official county-published statistic; treat it as an approximate figure for framing purposes only.
Searching for Atlantic County Inmate Records by Name
Population counts and capacity history describe the facility as a whole, not individual custody records. For name-based lookups of people currently or recently held at the Atlantic County Justice Facility, visit the Atlantic County inmate records page, which covers the phone and resource options available given that the county does not publish an official online jail roster.
Where the Data Comes From
Every population and capacity figure above traces to one of four official sources. The county's own Division of Adult Detention page is the primary source for the Justice Facility's design capacity, historical peak average, and current average population. The Department of Public Safety's broader overview page provides the alternative 1,000-inmate average and the 250-community-program figure. The Harborfields page is the source for the 20-bed juvenile detention capacity. The September 2024 compliance announcement is sourced from the county's own news item at atlanticcountynj.gov.
For state and national framing, the sources are the Bureau of Justice Statistics annual Jail Inmates reports and the Prison Policy Initiative New Jersey profile. BJS data is collected through the Annual Survey of Jails and the Census of Jails; it reflects conditions as of a specific date each year, typically the last weekday in June. Prison Policy Initiative draws on BJS and U.S. Census Bureau data and publishes state profiles that aggregate incarceration across all facility types. Neither BJS nor Prison Policy Institute is an official Atlantic County source, but both are standard references for jail population research.
- Atlantic County Division of Adult Detention page - design capacity, peak average, current average
- Adult Detention administration page - broader Public Safety population language
- Harborfields Youth Detention page - 20-bed juvenile capacity
- Atlantic County 2024 inspection compliance news item - 100% compliance result
- Bureau of Justice Statistics - national and New Jersey jail population data
- Prison Policy Initiative New Jersey profile - state and county incarceration context
For individual-level custody information, the appropriate contacts are the jail records line at 609-909-7551 and the Justice Facility main number at 609-645-5855. Released-inmate and custody-notification resources are on the released inmates page. Active warrant information is on the warrant records page. For arrest and criminal history context, see the criminal records page.